Get too Many Points in Michigan, You Too Could Be RIding Your Bike to Work
An Experienced Traffic Ticket Attorney may be able to reduce the Points and Keep You Driving
Under Michigan law, most traffic violations are civil infractions, although some, like driving on a suspended license, are misdemeanors or even felonies. Depending on the violation, you may be fined, referred to a special program or, in the most serious situations, sent to jail. Plus, in most cases, if you do not take care of a traffic ticket, your license will be suspended.
Under Michigan’s point system, each traffic violation has a point value, which is set by law in the Michigan Vehicle Code. Points are placed on your driver record only after you have been convicted or found guilty for a criminal offense or responsible for a civil infraction.
Points placed on your driver record remain there for two years from the date of conviction. If you believe there are extenuating circumstances for the ticket you received, these must be submitted when you appear in court. The Secretary of State cannot set aside a court conviction or the points.
Six Points- Manslaughter, negligent homicide, or other felonies involving use of a motor vehicle, Operating under the influence of liquor or drugs, Failing to stop and give identification at the scene of a crash, Reckless driving, Unlawful bodily alcohol content of 0.08 or more, Refusal to take a chemical test, and Fleeing or eluding a police officer.
Four Points-Drag racing, Operating while visibly impaired, Under age 21 with any bodily alcohol content, 16 mph or more over the legal speed limit, Failure to yield or failure to show due caution for emergency vehicles.
Three Points-Careless driving, Disobeying a traffic signal or stop sign, Improper passing, 11 through 15 mph over the legal speed limit, Failure to stop at a railroad crossing, Failure to stop for a school bus or for disobeying a school crossing guard.
Two Points-10 mph or less over the legal speed limit, Open alcohol container in vehicle, All other moving violations, Refusal to take a Preliminary Breath Test (PBT) by anyone under age 21.
If you have too many points, the Michigan Secretary of State may required you to take a driver improvement class or may even suspend your license.
At Schmierlaw we will file an appearance on your behalf and request a formal hearing with the Court. Generally, you will not have to attend this hearing and Schmierlaw can appear in your place. We will speak with the police officer who issued the ticket if he or she is at the Courthouse and negotiate with the Prosecutor to amend the charge to something with no or less points, lower fines, and a make sure that any resolution less impact on your driving record and your insurance rates.
Schmierlaw will work to protect your driving record and your privilege to drive
Law Office of James G. Schmier, PLLC
2222 Attard Street, Birmingham, Michigan 48009
Tel: (248) 705-3742 FAX: (248) 540-0044 Email: firstname.lastname@example.org